Skip to content

TWIN PISTON

Piper PA-34 Seneca

2 models from FAA type certificate data sheet A7SO. Every figure below is quoted from the sheet. Open any “Source” to see the words it comes from.

THE DATA SHEET

Authority
Federal Aviation Administration (United States)
Sheet
Type Certificate Data Sheet A7SO
Revision
24
Date
April 9, 2019
Holder
Piper Aircraft, Inc.
Licence
US Government work, public domain (17 U.S.C. 105)

Performance figures (stall speeds, take-off and landing distances, climb, cruise and fuel burn) are in the aircraft's flight manual (POH/AFM), which we cannot reproduce. Always use the flight manual for the aircraft you fly.

This is a United States Federal Aviation Administration sheet. We show it as a US certification document, not as an Australian or New Zealand rule. Units are the sheet's own: pounds, US gallons and quarts, and knots or mph as stated.

How we copied the sheet. Quotes are from our stored text copy of the sheet, taken from the text layer of the FAA's online viewer. We rebuilt lines from the text positions, joined wrapped lines, marked wide gaps between table cells with |, removed page headers and footers, and replaced symbol-font characters with the symbols they print as. Check the original sheet before relying on any figure.

Models not shown. The sheet also covers the PA-34-200 (Seneca) and the PA-34-220T Seneca IV and V sections. We include the Seneca II and Seneca III.

Choose a model

Showing the PA-34-200T.

SPEC SHEET

Piper PA-34 Seneca: PA-34-200T

Seneca II

The sheet's heading for this modelModel PA-34-200T (Seneca II), 7 PCLM (Normal Category)

Source for the model heading

II. - Model PA-34-200T (Seneca II), 7 PCLM (Normal Category), Approved July 18, 1974.

Compare the PA-34-200T with another aircraft

Engine

Engine
Teledyne Continental TSIO-360-E or TSIO-360-EB (left), LTSIO-360-E or LTSIO-360-EB (right)
Source for Engine

Engines | 1 Teledyne Continental TSIO-360-E or TSIO-360-EB (left engine), 1 Teledyne Continental LTSIO-360-E or LTSIO-360-EB (right engine).

Rated power
200 hpeach engine, at sea levelThe sheet gives a higher figure at altitude.
Source for Rated power

Engine Limits | For all operations, 2575 r.p.m. and 40" Hg. Manifold pressure, 200 hp @ S.L. and 215 hp @ 12,000 ft.

Engine speed limit
2,575 rpm
Source for Engine speed limit

Engine Limits | For all operations, 2575 r.p.m. and 40" Hg.

Propeller

Left out. The sheet lists several hub and blade options for each engine.

Fuel and oil

Fuel capacity
98 US galstandard tanks≈ 371 L (converted)The sheet lists larger optional tanks.
Source for Fuel capacity

Fuel Capacity | 98 gallons (2 wing tanks) at (+93.6) (93 gallons usable)

Usable fuel
93 US galstandard tanks≈ 352 L (converted)
Source for Usable fuel

Fuel Capacity | 98 gallons (2 wing tanks) at (+93.6) (93 gallons usable)

Oil capacity
8 US qteach engine≈ 7.6 L (converted)
Source for Oil capacity

Oil Capacity | 8 qts. per engine (5 qts. per engine usable)

Weights and loading

Maximum weight
Normal category4,570 lb≈ 2,073 kg (converted)
Source for Maximum weight, Normal category

Maximum Weight | 4570 lb. - Takeoff

Seats
7
Source for Seats

No. of Seats | 7 (2 at +85.5, 3 at +118.1, 2 at +155.7)

Baggage limit
200 lb≈ 90.7 kg (converted)Split between a forward and an aft compartment.
Source for Baggage limit

Maximum Baggage | 200 lb. (100 lb. at +22.5, 100 lb. at +178)

C.G. range
Gear extended: (+90.6) to (+94.6) at 4570 lb; (+82.0) to (+94.6) at 3400 lb
Source for C.G. range

C.G. Range (Gear Extended) | (+90.6) to (+94.6) at 4570 lb. (+82.0) to (+94.6) at 3400 lb.

Airspeed limits

Never exceed speed (Vne)
195 kt, basis not statedThe sheet gives mph with knots in brackets, and does not say whether these are CAS or IAS.
Source for Never exceed speed (Vne)

Airspeed Limits | VNE (Never exceed) | 224 m.p.h. | (195 knots)

Maximum structural cruising speed (Vno)
165 kt, basis not stated
Source for Maximum structural cruising speed (Vno)

V NO (Maximum structural cruise) | 190 m.p.h. | (165 knots)

Manoeuvring speed (Va)
122 kt, basis not stated
Source for Manoeuvring speed (Va)

V A (Maneuvering) | 140 m.p.h. | (122 knots)

Maximum flap extended speed (Vfe)
109 kt, basis not stated
Source for Maximum flap extended speed (Vfe)

V FE (Flaps extended) | 125 m.p.h. | (109 knots)

Reference

Datum
78.4" forward of wing leading edge from the inboard edge of the inboard fuel tank
Source for Datum

Datum | 78.4" forward of wing leading edge from the inboard edge of the inboard fuel tank.

Certification basis
FAR 23 as amended by Amendment 23-6 effective August 1, 1967, with later additions
Source for Certification basis

Model PA-34-200T (Seneca II): FAR 23 as amended by Amendment 23-6 effective August 1, 1967;

COCKPIT

The PA-34-200T limits on an airspeed indicator

Where the sheet gives them in knots, the dial shows Vne as a red line, the caution range from Vno to Vne as a yellow arc, a green tick at Vno and white ticks at the flap limit speeds (Vfe). The sheet gives flap limits, not instrument markings, and the stall speeds where the green and white arcs start are not in it.

PANEL LAYOUT

Classic six-pack

These are example panels drawn by us. They do not show the panel fitted to any Piper PA-34 Seneca. Only the airspeed markings come from this model's data sheet.

  • 406080100120140160180200220VfeVnoAIRSPEEDKNOTSAirspeed indicator
  • 2020101010102020Attitude indicator
  • 01234567891013hPaALTFEETAltimeter
  • LRTURN COORDINATOR2 MINNO PITCH INFORMATIONTurn coordinator
  • N36E1215S2124W3033Heading indicator
  • 0.5.5111.51.522UPDOWNVERTICAL SPEED1000 FT/MINVertical speed indicator
  • 05101520253035RPM×100Tachometer
  • 075150OIL°COil temperature
  • 060120OILPSIOil pressure
  • EEFFLRFUELFuel quantity
  • 0510SUCTIONin HgSuction gauge
0 kt

What the dial shows

  • Red line: never exceed speed (Vne)195 kt, basis not stated
    Source for the red line

    Airspeed Limits | VNE (Never exceed) | 224 m.p.h. | (195 knots)

  • Yellow arc: caution rangeFrom Vno to Vne, 165 kt, basis not stated to 195 kt, basis not stated
  • Green tick: Vno, top of the green arc165 kt, basis not stated
    Source for the green tick

    V NO (Maximum structural cruise) | 190 m.p.h. | (165 knots)

  • White tick: Vfe, a flap limit speed109 kt, basis not stated
    Source for the white tick

    V FE (Flaps extended) | 125 m.p.h. | (109 knots)

  • Marks are drawn at the sheet's speeds in knots. The sheet does not say whether they are CAS or IAS.
  • White tick marks the flap limit speed (Vfe) the sheet gives. The sheet gives flap limits, not instrument markings, so the flight manual says where this aircraft's white arc ends.
  • The low ends of the white and green arcs are stall speeds. They come from the flight manual, so we have left them unmarked.

The other instruments are drawn at rest and are not linked to this aircraft. Learn what each instrument shows in the cockpit explorer.

For learning only. Not for flight planning or use in flight. Figures are certification limits from Federal Aviation Administration, Type Certificate Data Sheet A7SO, Revision 24, retrieved 31 October 2026. Conversions marked “converted” are our own arithmetic. No manufacturer images are used. The instruments are drawn by us. Back to all aircraft.